2023 Giants of Broadcasting Honorees

The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation Honors 2023 Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts Award Recipients

New York (November 15, 2023)The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) paid tribute to distinguished industry leaders and celebrities for lifetime achievements during the 2023 Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts Luncheon and Awards Ceremony. The annual event took place on Tuesday, November 14th at Gotham Hall in New York City.  

The ceremony, produced for LABF by the International Radio & Television Society Foundation (IRTSF), was hosted by 2018 Giant of Broadcasting Honoree and CBS News’ 60 Minutes Award Winning Correspondent Bill Whitaker.

The Giants of Broadcasting celebration was created by LABF, a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the past, reflecting the present, and informing the future. The awards presentation celebrates the remarkable creators, innovators, leaders, performers, and journalists who have blazed trails in the radio and television broadcasting industry.

To date, LABF has honored more than 255 leaders in broadcasting since the event\’s inception back in 2003. Net proceeds from the luncheon will support the preservation and expansion of the Library of American Broadcasting collection, which is curated at the University of Maryland. Considered among the largest of its kind, the Library of American Broadcasting plays a vital role in growing, preserving, and providing access to archives that highlight broadcasting\’s profound influence on culture and history throughout the world. 

“This event is a celebration of the incredible women and men who have truly blazed trails and made significant contributions on behalf of the media industry and American culture,” said LABF Co-Chairs Heidi Raphael and Jack Goodman.

The 2023 Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts Honorees:

CAROLINE BEASLEY – CEO – Beasley Media Group

WOLF BLITZER – Anchor, The Situation Room – CNN

JUJU CHANG – Co-Anchor, Nightline – ABC News

TONY DANZA – Acclaimed Actor and Singer

DAVID KENNEDY – Co-Founder & Managing Director – Aspire Ventures LLC

ERIC SHANKS – CEO & Executive Producer – FOX Sports

VALARI DOBSON STAAB – Chairman – NBCUniversal Local

NINA TOTENBERG – Correspondent, Legal Affairs – NPR

A portion of the proceeds from the event will also support IRTS Foundation’s student training and diversity initiatives. 


Back Row (L-R): Joyce Tudryn (IRTS President and CEO), Heidi Raphael (LABF Co-chair), Eric Shanks, Wolf Blitzer, Tony Danza, David Kennedy, Bill Whitaker (Emcee and 2018 Giant), Jack Goodman (LABF Co-chair)

Front Row (L-R): Valari Dobson Staab, JuJu Chang, Caroline Beasley, and Nina Totenberg

Photo Credit: Wendy Moger Bross


The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the past, reflecting the present and informing the future. The LABF was created to honor the remarkable creators, innovators, leaders, performers, and journalists who have brought the electronic arts to the prominence they occupy in the United States and the world today, and who have set the stage for the future.  In addition, the organization serves the philanthropic purpose of supporting the Library of American Broadcasting, the nation’s most extensive collection of broadcast history, policy, and tradition, including historical documents, professional papers, oral and video histories, books, scripts, and photographs preserved at the University of Maryland. For more information, please visit www.tvradiolibrary.org


The International Radio and Television Society Foundation, Inc. (IRTS FOUNDATION) is a 501(c)(3) charity, which brings together the wisdom and power of today’s leaders to train and educate the next generation of media and communication professionals through its many educational programs and diversity initiatives. Learn more at www.irtsfoundation.org.