Broadcasting+Cable Hall of Fame

Caroline Beasley & The Late George Beasley Join The Broadcasting+Cable Hall Of Fame Class of 2023

The Broadcasting+Cable Hall of Fame – the premier industry event paying tribute to the influencers, innovators and shining lights of broadcast, cable and broadband television – returns this spring to celebrate its 31st anniversary with a star-studded gala, Wednesday, May 3rd at New York’s Ziegfeld Ballroom (141 W. 54th St).

Highlighting this year’s event, five-time National Sportscaster of the Year and multi-Emmy Award-winning CBS Sports commentator Jim Nantz will receive the Hall of Fame’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award.  

AMC Networks’ long-running, critically acclaimed and award-winning series The Walking Dead will also be honored with the Iconic Show Award.

Other luminaries being honored at this year’s event include Soledad O’Brien, Rachael Ray, Deborah Roberts and Al Roker.

The Broadcasting+Cable Hall of Fame class of 2023 joins the ranks of over 400 honorees previously recognized by Broadcasting+Cable magazine.

The complete list of 2023 Hall of Fame inductees includes:

·  Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Media Group and

   George G. Beasley (1932-2021), Founder, Beasley Media Group  

.  Matthew Bond, Chairman, Content Distribution, NBCUniversal

·  Ray Cole, President & COO, Citadel Communications, LLC

·  Frank Comerford, Chief Revenue Officer & President of Sales, NBCUniversal Local

·  Ray Hopkins, President, U.S. Networks Distribution, Paramount Global

·  Wonya Lucas, President & CEO, Hallmark Media

·  Jim Nantz, Sports Commentator, CBS Sports (Lifetime Achievement Award)

·  Soledad O’Brien, CEO, SO’B Productions

·  Rachael Ray, Host, Rachael Ray

·  Deborah Roberts, ABC News Senior National Affairs Correspondent and Contributing Anchor for 20/20

·  Al Roker, Weather and Feature Anchor, TODAY; Co-Host of 3rd Hour, TODAY, NBCUniversal

·  James Thompson, Past President (2008-2022), Broadcasters Foundation of America

·  The Walking Dead, AMC Networks (Iconic Show Award)

“We are thrilled to once again honor our industry’s most accomplished pioneers, creators and leaders,” said Bill McGorry, chairman of the Broadcasting+Cable Hall of Fame. “These innovators all share a common bond – their collective vision, remarkable achievements and unbreakable will to succeed have changed our business forever and brought it to another level. We look forward to recognizing these worthy honorees on May 3 as we welcome them into the B+C Hall of Fame – our industry’s highest honor.”

“When we inducted the 30th anniversary B+C Hall of Fame class this past April at the Ziegfeld Ballroom, it felt great to get back to celebrating the industry’s best people in person,” Kent Gibbons, content director of B+C Multichannel News magazine, said. “To follow that up this spring with one of the most diverse and dynamic Hall of Fame classes ever will be even more special.”

A portion of the net proceeds is donated to The Broadcasters Foundation of America, a charitable organization that provides anonymous financial grants to those of our industry colleagues and their families who are in acute need due to critical illness or accident, advanced age, death of a spouse or other serious misfortune. 

“We are grateful to the B + C Hall of Fame and William McGorry for consistently donating a portion of the proceeds from the gala to help the charitable mission of the Broadcasters Foundation,” said Tim McCarthy, President of the Broadcasters Foundation. “This particular Hall of Fame will have significant meaning for us, as Jim Thompson, who led the Foundation for 14 years until he passed away this past fall, will be honored posthumously.  Jim was passionate about broadcasting and the people who worked in radio and TV. There isn’t a person who worked with him or for him that doesn’t miss him. Jim got up every day and helped people, not only through his work with the Foundation, but throughout his life.”

The Paley Center for Media, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is also a beneficiary. The Paley Center leads the discussion about the cultural, creative and social significance of television, radio and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.

For sponsorship, tables and ticket information, please contact Jessica Wolin at or 212-685-4233. 

To view the new class, visit

 Follow the Broadcasting+Cable Hall of Fame at #BCHOF2023.

About B+C Hall of Fame 2023

The B+C Hall of Fame is presented by Future publication Broadcasting+Cable. As one of the industry’s most respected events, the celebration honors the pioneers, innovators, stars and shows who have helped build the industry.

About Future

Future is a global multi-platform media company and leading digital publisher, with scalable brands and diversified revenue streams. Every month, it connects over 300 million people worldwide with their passions, through expert content, world-class events and cutting-edge proprietary technology. Every year, Future attracts millions of consumers to its brands’ websites, magazines, events and social spaces. To learn more about Future visit

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *