Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame 2024

Pebbles of Beasley Media’s HOT 96.9 To Be Inducted into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame

Pebbles, of Beasley Media\’s HOT 96.9 in Boston, is among nine distinguished radio and television personalities that will be inducted into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame on Thursday, June 13, at the annual MA Broadcasters Association ( luncheon and awards ceremony at the Marriott Boston Quincy Hotel.

Pebbles is the reigning (2023) Massachusetts Broadcasters Association (MBA) “Broadcaster of the Year.” Her first experience in radio was as an intern at WILD 1090 which led to her first paying radio job as part of The Wild Morning Show.  Boston’s “original TMZ,” Pebbles quickly became known for her fun contributions to the show, often reporting on celebrity gossip. Pebbles also found that through WILD’s community outreach, giving back to her community and audience delighted her.  She began reading to children at the Roxbury branch of the Boston Public Library, and created the “Reading Rockstars Program,” a program still in existence, where Pebbles visits schools to share the importance of literacy.  Throughout her career Pebbles has also worked with the Boys and Girls Club, Girl Scouts of Eastern Mass., Project Bread, and Media Girls. In 1995, Pebbles made the jump to FM radio and the morning show on the new JAM’N 94.5 (WJMN-FM).  There she eventually partnered with Ramiro and Melissa to form the origins of the morning show that now resides on Beasley Media’s HOT 96.9 (WBQT-FM) as The GetUp Crew – a show that has been amongst the highest rated in Boston for more than 23 years. Pebbles has won two Gracie Awards, both recognizing her public affairs program, “Voices.” Pebbles’ real name is Susan Semedo; she was given her radio nickname while at WILD in the 1980s.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame luncheon cost $90 each.  If purchased before May 3, the buyer will receive a $10 discount per ticket!  Full tables of eight, nine, and ten are also available. For more information, and to purchase tickets:

Other radio and television personalities being inducted this year include, in alphabetically by last name:

  • Barbara Bernard, who at nearly 100 years old can look back at an award-winning radio and television career that’s made her one of the most beloved personalities in Western Massachusetts;
  • Bill Fine, who served as only the fourth president and general manager in the history of WCVB-TV, Channel 5 — Boston\’s ABC affiliate, Hearst Television\’s flagship, and the country’s most honored commercial TV station;
  • The Joe and Andy Family – For more than a decade, mostly during the 1980s, “The Joe and Andy Family” get-together on WROR-FM, starring Joe Martelle and the late Andy Moes, was a morning drive-time “hit” and an “appointment radio” laugh-fest;
  • Alison King, the universally respected political reporter who recently left NBC10 Boston and NECN to join the Harvard Kennedy School\’s Institute of Politics as a Resident Fellow and Shorenstein Center as a Research Fellow. She is also a fellow at Salem State University\’s Institute of Politics.  
  • Phillip Martin, a multi-award-winning journalist and the senior investigative reporter for The GBH News Center for Investigative Reporting;
  • Glenn Ordway, the popular radio sports program host who early in his career spent 13 years as a member of the Boston Celtics\’ radio broadcast team;
  • Candy O\’Terry, also known as \”Candy O,\” she spent 25 years on Magic 106.7.  A champion for women\’s programming, she has interviewed nearly 1000 women from every walk of life and is the host of “The Story Behind Her Success” weekly podcast and radio series.