2019 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced Progressive Insurance Named Radio Marketer of the Year

New York, NY – June 6, 2019 — Winners for the 2019 Radio Mercury Awards were announced this evening at the 28th annual awards presentation held at SONY HALL in New York. This year’s $50,000 Best of Show award was presented to Wieden + Kennedy for their Old Spice Pomade Radio campaign.

\”We have tremendous diversity in tonight’s winning audio, and what impressed the final round judges most was the power of storytelling and the various ways advertisers were able to convey a brand’s message through innovative and unique creative,\” noted Chris Beresford-Hill, chief judge and chief creative officer, TBWA\\Chiat\\Day NY.

\”It was another great night for radio and the strength of the audio medium in conveying a brand\’s message,\” said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau, and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. \”The Radio Mercury Awards continue to advance the medium forward by showcasing innovative and effective radio commercial work.\”

This year\’s event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau, and presented by Beasley Media Group and Hubbard Radio in partnership with iHeartMedia Inc. Sponsoring the awards show were Bonneville International, CBS News Radio, Cherry Creek Radio, Cox Media Group, The Cromwell Group, Emmis Communications, Entercom Communications, Forcht Broadcasting, Katz Radio Group, Miller, Kaplan, Arase LLP, Neuhoff Media, Nielsen Audio, Skyview Networks, Townsquare Media, Triton Digital, United Stations Radio Networks, Westwood One, WideOrbit, and Xperi.

The festive and lively ceremony was hosted by Orlando Davis, Program Director and Host of Orlando and the Freakshow on WiLD 94.1 in Tampa, and Scott Rizzuto, headliner of The Rizzuto Show on 105.7 The Point from St. Louis. Among the award presenters during the show were Christine Malovetz from WNYL Alt 92, Sharon \”La Loca\” Montero from Radio 103.9, and Megan Ryte from HOT97. iHeartMedia was the official Music Provider for the evening and DJ Whutever from Power 105.1 served as the guest DJ for the night. 

In attendance were numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community, including the aforementioned Chris Beresford-Hill and Jeff Charney, along with Terrence Burrell of Burrell Communications, Chuck Meehan of Doner Detroit, Ciro Sarmiento of Dieste, and Chris Smith from The Richards Group. Also in attendance were creative teams from Arnold, BBDO/NY, Casanova//McCann, Grey Midwest, Joan Creative, McCann NY, Publicis NY, TBWA\\Chiat\\Day NY and Y&R NY.

Below is a list of the winning spots. To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight\’s ceremony log ontowww.radiomercuryawards.com.


$50,000 Best of Show 
Pomade Radio 
Old Spice 
Wieden + Kennedy

$5,000 Radio Commercial 
Vocal Fry 
Motel 6
The Richards Group

$1,500 Radio Commercial 
Elk Country
Progressive Insurance
Arnold Worldwide

$5,000 Radio Campaign 
3PM Brainstorms
Mars Chocolate North America/Snickers
BBDO New York

$1,500 Radio Campaign 
2018 Radio Campaign
Motel 6
The Richards Group

$3,000 Integrated Campaign with Radio/Audio 
Answering the Call
McCann New York

$1,500 Creative Use of Audio 
Westworld: The Maze

$1,500 Creative Use of Sound/Music

$3,000 PSA Spot or Campaign 
A Day in the Life
Donate Life California

$5,000 Radio Station Produced Commercial 
Soft Rock/Jim & Donna
Kansas City Men’s Clinic
iHeartMedia Creative Studio

$1,500 Radio Station Produced Commercial 
Her Man Can Do It
Herrmann Services
Hubbard Radio Cincinnati

$1,500 Radio Station Promotional Spot 
Paul’s Prosthesis Palace
Hubbard Radio

$3,000 Spanish Language Spot or Campaign 
Danceable Trailers
Chicago Latino Film Festival
Leo Burnett Chicago/Lapiz

$1,500 Student Produced 
Sad Glad Bag
Miami Ad School


About the Radio Mercury Awards 
The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 19,500 commercials have competed for over $3.4 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *